A week of ADA Celebration @ NCIL 2014 Conference

Today is the 24th Anniversary of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (ADA)! The ADA was signed by President George H. Bush on July 26, 1990 and started the dismantling of the barriers many people with disabilities live with each day. The law was signed and as with all laws it takes time to implement them and even more time to change culture around them; think of the Women’s Equal Rights Amendment (ERA) of 1972. The ERA was introduced in Congress in 1923, passed into law in 1972 and it is not ratified in all 50 states as of July 2014.

The work on the ADA has a long and amazing history. One of my favorite books on the amazing advocate story is No Pity: People with Disabilities Forging a New Civil Rights Era by Joe Shapiro of NPR. In my work as an advocate for disability rights, I have had the honor of meeting some of the history makers written about in No Pity. It is a blessing to do the work I do and an honor to now call some of these change makers, my friend. The movement has come a long way but we have much work to do and miles to go!

Next week is the National Council on Independent Living’s (NCIL) Annual Conference held in Washington, DC. I am a proud member of NCIL and serve as the Co-Chair of the ADA/Civil Rights Subcommittee. This will be my fourth year attending the conference and my first year blogging about it daily! I am excited to bring you the news from the “front lines”! It will be an exciting and energizing time and I hope you join me on this journey!

This is also the kick off for a year-long celebration for the 25th Anniversary of the ADA! See our work on this at the ADA Legacy Project!

NCIL 2014 Conference – Sunday, July 27 – Friday, August 1, 2014

Follow me on Twitter @NJDC07; read my daily blogs and see pictures at both!

Happy 24th Anniversary of the ADA!

For information from this story go to:

The Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990: http://www.ada.gov

The Women’s Equal Rights Amendment of 1972: http://www.equalrightsamendment.org/history.htm

Joe Shapiro of NPR: http://www.npr.org/people/2101159/joseph-shapiro

NCIL 2014 Conference website: http://www.ncil.org/2014-annual-conference-on-independent-living/

The ADA Legacy work: http://disabilityrightscenter.wordpress.com

 

About wiyatt

Hi I am Dara born in Spain, raised in Newark, NJ and now enjoying living a dream in Washington, DC. I am zealous about Social Equity and Justice. I am an Advocate for Disability Rights. I am a Sister & Friend to many! Years of studying, living and changing policy brought me to this place. Thank you for reading my blog! Follow me on Twitter: @NJDC07 The quote above is from Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr in a speech he gave here in Washington, DC in 1955. It is now carved into one of the many stones at his memorial on the National Mall.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

