What’s in a photo?

Picture is defined as a visual representation of a person, object or scene. I grew up with cameras always out for all occasions. My PopPop – maternal grandfather and my dad were the photographers of the family. They always set us up for family shots and made sure they were in them – the self timers on their 35mm cameras were their tools to being in a family “selfie” back then.

So, as the saying goes “I get it honestly”! My friends will tell you that there were few occasions when I do not have a camera in my hand. I stopped counting how many cameras I have owned. I had a Poloroid that took instant shots printed out of the camera and we waited for them to dry and the image appeared in minutes. I had the disc, the slims and a 35mm where it automatically loaded the film. That one didn’t work too well and true photographers hated it!

I grew up when you dropped off film and waited a week or more for the pictures. My dad taught me how to develop pictures in our own dark room, which is what I did as my high school newspaper and year book photographer. I went off to college with a brand new smith and corona typewriter, the first one with a digital screen where you could see what you typed before it printed on paper; and a brand new camera. My dad wanted me to chronicle my life in college and he helped with that project. I have some great pictures of my college life. My typewriter and typing skills, 85 words per minute helped me to pay for my photography hobby. Back then I use to type people’s written term papers because so many students either did not know how to type or did not type well. (those stories are for another post – living through the changing technological world)

When I pledged my sorority, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc., I was and continue to be my “line’s” photo historian. It is tradition to be given a “line” number and “line” name when pledging for a sorority. I pledged in Spring 1994 and my number is 18 and my line name is Kodak! I proudly earned that name and try to live up to it each time I am with my “line sisters”.

Now with technology, chronicling and sharing pictures is such a joy! I use my APPLE technology and LOVE IT! Everyone laughs at me because I attend a FREE APPLE class each month to learn about these products I spend a fortune on! Well in those classes I learned how to use the photography section of my APPLE account. It is amazing and it has made sharing pictures easier.

So, I tell you all of this, because on my Twitter feed,  you will see the 2014 NCIL Conference, March and Rally pictures. I am no Tom Olin- the wonderful professional ADA photo historian, but I have my own “flare” for capturing moments. I hope you enjoy the pictures see my Twitter account @NJDC07, some are from other photographers but most are my pictures. It was a great time and I look forward to taking more wonderful pictures in the future. I may start a photo blog!

Hope you enjoyed this post! Please leave a comment and pass the word!

Stay tuned for my next post!

 

 

About wiyatt

Hi I am Dara born in Spain, raised in Newark, NJ and now enjoying living a dream in Washington, DC. I am zealous about Social Equity and Justice. I am an Advocate for Disability Rights. I am a Sister & Friend to many! Years of studying, living and changing policy brought me to this place. Thank you for reading my blog! Follow me on Twitter: @NJDC07 The quote above is from Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr in a speech he gave here in Washington, DC in 1955. It is now carved into one of the many stones at his memorial on the National Mall.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

