“My One Year Challenge – a blog post each day for 2015!”

WOW! 2014 is over! The end of another year and the beginning of…… YOU (my wonderful readers) fill in the blank (s) for yourselves!

I had a roller-coaster 2014! I started the year out in a deep depression as it was the first holiday season without my dear mother and I HATED where I was in life! I was upset about my career path, it had been derailed and I was not doing what I was made to do – public policy analysis and advocacy; I was in a relationship but not with “the one”; and I was gaining a lot of weight (which took me years to loose).

But as they say life goes on and so must we. My life is directed by Faith and NOTHING more. I was blessed with a return to my career path and a great position at a wonderful organization as a public policy analyst and advocate; I got rid of the guy and remain open and faithful that love will find its way to me and I lost some of that weight I gained and am on a serious path to loosing more.

If you must know my religious label, then I will tell you, that in the realm of this world I am a Christian and my faith is directed by the Holy Trinity, which in case you are unaware of, is: The Father, The Son and The Holy Ghost.

I read the NIV (New International Version) of the Bible but there are some scriptures that only sound good in the King James version and one such verse is: Hebrews 11:1 “Now Faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.” The belief in this verse is the foundation of what keeps my life moving forward. (Stay tuned for more on this in 2015)

That brings me to the title of this post: “My One Year Challenge – a blog post each day for 2015!” Another positive outcome from 2014 – this blog was launched in May! It was through the strength and support of a great group of friends and interns (they were the PUSH) that this blog became a reality. I never thought that I would be able to “write code” and set up my own blog. But …. FAITH!

Once I got it set up, I was on a roll and then I fell off the writing wagon! But that has changed! Your comments inspired me – THANK YOU! So many of you not only challenged me in your comments, something I don’t shy away from – PLEASE Challenge me for debate is what makes the world go round. You also flattered me and let me know that you enjoyed my writing: “You are an awesome writer”; “…very eloquently written” are just a few.

When I started this blog, I asked for advice from some professional writers and each one of them said “JUST DO IT!” and one gave me THE BEST advice, he told me “Just be yourself when writing your posts”! Thank you so much for taking off the edge with that sporting advice – you know who you are. (if you read him his “brand” is hidden within that sentence)

So, in 2014 I only wrote 17 posts for a seven-month period. THIS IS HORRIBLE! I can and will do better. I challenge myself to write a blog post each day for the 2015 year! They may be short and they may be personal but they will be posted!

From the About section of this blog: 

Years of studying, living and changing policy brought me to this place. I am a news junkie! I follow news from all media outlets. The title of this blog is a description of my typical reaction to the news! My TV is constantly on cable news, C-SPAN or PBS. I chose to highlight the TV because I can yell in the privacy of my home. I read the news everywhere around town and it is a bit foolish to yell in public! But now I CAN!

Technology has made watching the news an interactive sport for me and I LOVE IT! So sit back and enjoy the ride!  Thank you for reading my blog and pass the word!

With that premise, how can I not have something to write about every day?

HAPPY NEW YEAR and I wish you all the best in 2015!

About wiyatt

Hi I am Dara born in Spain, raised in Newark, NJ and now enjoying living a dream in Washington, DC. I am zealous about Social Equity and Justice. I am an Advocate for Disability Rights. I am a Sister & Friend to many! Years of studying, living and changing policy brought me to this place. Thank you for reading my blog! Follow me on Twitter: @NJDC07 The quote above is from Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr in a speech he gave here in Washington, DC in 1955. It is now carved into one of the many stones at his memorial on the National Mall.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “My One Year Challenge – a blog post each day for 2015!”

  1. Josh says:

    Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

