“What is a New Year’s Resolution?”

Every New Year there are hundreds of articles and news stories written asking us “what’s your New Year’s resolution?” or “Did you keep last year’s resolution?” What is a New Year’s resolution?

According to the Cambridge Dictionary: A promise that you make to yourself to start doing something good or stop doing something bad on the first day of the year

According to Wikipedia: A New Year’s resolution is a tradition, most common in the Western Hemisphere but also found in the Eastern Hemisphere, in which a person makes a promise to do an act of self-improvement or something slightly nice, such as opening doors for people beginning from New Year’s Day.

This is interesting! Isn’t this something we should do each day of our lives? We are all here for a purpose and hopefully we are blessed to be able to identify this purpose early in life. Then we get up each day and “do an act of self-improvement or something slightly nice”. Isn’t this also called Pay it Forward? Or one of the commands from the Sermon on the Mount “Do unto others as you would have them do unto you”.

No wonder so many people are not successful with their big New Year’s Eve Resolutions. It has to be overwhelming to sit down and strategize on how to accomplish your New Year’s Resolution. To plan on how to do this thing that you are not use to doing for 365 days. There is the decision to analyze your life and admit where you are lacking. (Your overweight; not saving enough money; in need of love; hate your job) That alone can be frightening.

Then you have to figure out how to make that deficiency valuable and significant in your life. (create an exercise plan; take up yoga or spinning class; open a bank account or read a book on finance; join an online dating site or contact a matchmaker; find a new job in this economy) Oh my!

A note to the reader on that finding love resolution – let me know if you have any plans that work:)

Next you have to implement the plan and do this thing that you don’t do on a daily basis for the next 365 days. It’s a definite set up for failure!

Now I am not against people changing their lives or in fact admitting that they need to improve their lives. But I think that there are better processes for assessing, strategize and implementing these life changes – “resolutions”! I think that each of us holds great characteristics and that we are just all too busy with doing things for life to truly enjoy life. Most of us don’t take the time to enjoy the “wonders” of life. We don’t slow down to “smell the roses”.

There are many self -help books out there that discuss how to accomplish this life style. I also think that Faith (of any kind) has a lot to do with understanding this and living this way. I made this change in my life in 2002. I gave up New Year’s Resolutions as I failed at almost all I set for myself. I also made a decision against all odds that I would go back to school full-time and obtain my Mater’s Degree by any means necessary.

The best part of giving up the resolutions was the assessment and identifying deficiencies. I learned about meditation and living in the present. I took some classes on eastern religions and learned to combine many of their beliefs with my own Christian faith. It enhanced my view of the power of prayer and in the ability to accomplish goals that I set for my life. Living in the moment and changing the things that enhance life daily can work wonders.

I learned to live life to the fullest and if you want to make a difference in your life stop and take the time to enjoy your life. Oh yeah and dump the resolutions!

Anderson Cooper did a segment for 60 Minutes: Mindfulness – watch:

http://www.cbsnews.com/news/mindfulness-anderson-cooper-60-minutes/

*Please leave comments and pass the word about The WIYATT blog!

About wiyatt

Hi I am Dara born in Spain, raised in Newark, NJ and now enjoying living a dream in Washington, DC. I am zealous about Social Equity and Justice. I am an Advocate for Disability Rights. I am a Sister & Friend to many! Years of studying, living and changing policy brought me to this place. Thank you for reading my blog! Follow me on Twitter: @NJDC07 The quote above is from Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr in a speech he gave here in Washington, DC in 1955. It is now carved into one of the many stones at his memorial on the National Mall.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

