Bar Talk: I HATE SNOBS!

I HATE snobs! I hate people who think they are better than me! I really hate when snobs are in positions of power! WIYATT lately is aimed toward many of these snobs! They are all over the TV and other media spouting about how angry minorities (black, brown and otherwise) are around the police shootings and ALL OTHER THINGS! (The name of the Washington, DC football team; Marriage equality; the treatment of people with disabilities) As I am a news junkie and a political junkie – I will return to a more serious post about these issues.

But today’s post, which is number 7 – that makes 358 to go! (YOU GO GIRL) I am going to tell another story! I have been told by some great people, “You tell the best stories!” And most of them really happened to me or one of my friends.

So this one is about SNOBS! I see most of these people who turn their noses up around the #BlackLivesMatter #ThisStopsToday #ICan’tBreathe #CarrytheNames and all our other social justice campaigns are nothing but a bunch of snobs and other things. But also the part of being a snob I hate is how harmful and hurtful they are at the core.

Early in my career I was working for a medical company in Jersey City, NJ. It was a Healhcare Financial management company and we managed Physical Therapy centers. When I arrived it was a small company managing 3 facilities. In three years we opened 33 facilities throughout NJ. The Jersey City office was the main office and since the facilities were growing we had to grow and hire new people. It was the late 90’s when President Clinton implemented the Welfare to work programs.

I went to my Vice President and encouraged him to consider hiring some of the young women who were in need of jobs. There was a community college around the corner and they had a training program where many of these young ladies were preparing to enter the workforce. He and I went over to talk with some of the directors and had a productive meeting. Two weeks later I started hiring people from the program.

In six months I had a staff of about 30 young ladies and men from the program. We needed people with a variety of skills but most of the positions were low level office jobs nothing on the management or executive level.

It’s amazing to think about those times now with the horrible unemployment situation we are currently undertaking. But I digress. So most of the staff came from Jersey City and some other Hudson County cities. I had young ladies who had never left Jersey City. They had no reason to do so, they told me. I had some young ladies who were trying to make it as single mothers and had some “seedy” but legal evening part-time jobs.

I did not judge or say anything to my staff about their lives. My mamma raised me right and the good Lord gave me “good sense”. But I also consider myself to be a good person and one of compassion.

None of their stories were a surprise to me and I was not amazed about how they were living their lives. I am from Newark, NJ. BUT for some of my cohorts other Directors and Executives on the leadership team that was not the story. I had two who were down right rude and nasty. That is when I had to take classes on Human Resource Management and learn all about how to handle them.

One was so downright despicable that I only spoke to him when I absolutely had too. Let’s call him Bob. He was the company accountant and in charge of payroll. On a payday Friday, one of my staff came to me with tears in her eyes and she was shaking. I asked let’s call her Kelly, “What’s wrong?” She told me that she checked her bank account that morning and her paycheck was not deposited. This was the beginning of direct deposit and we encouraged all our staff to do this.

She then said, “My mom said not to trust you guys with electronically putting my money in the bank! She said girl you need to get your check in hand.” I assured her that direct deposit was safe and there must be a mistake. This was prior to online banking so I called the 800 number to check on my account, but my funds had not been posted either.

Now this was a time in my life when I did not live pay check to pay check and so it really did not affect me in a life or death manner. But this young lady planed her life around her pay check so she needed it that day. I COMPLETELY understood and understand that feeling. So I called the bank to verify that there was a problem. I was shocked to find out that yes there was a problem but it was on the company’s end. The funds had not been transferred to be deposited into employees’ accounts. I was on the Finance team and had the authority to get this information.

I went right to Bob’s office. He informed me that did not get a chance to do this last night and was in the process of doing this now. He was pompous about why he did not have to do this. We began a debate about how you don’t treat your employees this way. Needless to say it was a waste of my time. During this back and forth he said to me “Why do you care? Those people are working for US and they will get what we want them to have when we want to give it to them!” That was it for me.

Our debate turned into an argument that Bob lost. I told him he was no better than any of us and no matter what he thought we have laws that protect all of us. He messed up with this line: “I went to Harvard Business School and got my MBA! I am better than these people!”

I also let him know that “I don’t care where you got your education, because at the end of day when they lay you off or fire you, the pink slip they give you looks no different than the one they would give me or my staff member Kelly!” To which he replied, “I will never get fired or laid off!”

What’s that old saying, “never say never”! Six month to the day, our President gathered the entire staff around for a surprise meeting “I just sold the management side of the business to a new company!” We all knew about this deal and finally it was final. It was explained that some of us would be transferred or moved to other offices. He left the room and I had a grin from ear to ear. My staff was like why are you so happy? I was quite aware of the business plan for the company.

I was also very sure that any financial institution taking over a company was sure to get rid of the accounting team. It is only good business sense. Guess who was the ONLY staff member to be “let go” – you go it good ole Bob! Three days later, they gave him a brown box and told him they would messenger his things to his home.

So I was wrong, he never got a pink slip and neither did we!

Thanks for reading, please leave a comment and pass the word about The WIYATT!

About wiyatt

Hi I am Dara born in Spain, raised in Newark, NJ and now enjoying living a dream in Washington, DC. I am zealous about Social Equity and Justice. I am an Advocate for Disability Rights. I am a Sister & Friend to many! Years of studying, living and changing policy brought me to this place. Thank you for reading my blog! Follow me on Twitter: @NJDC07 The quote above is from Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr in a speech he gave here in Washington, DC in 1955. It is now carved into one of the many stones at his memorial on the National Mall.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bar Talk: I HATE SNOBS!

  1. Beth Wanjiku says:

    Loved it! What goes around, comes around, huh!

  2. subrinaw says:

    As a CPA, I got when I read he was a Harvard MBA doing payroll runs, hmmm. I’m sure that was not the first brown box that was handed to him, nor will it be the last.

Leave a Reply

