“2015 jumps off in terror”

WOW! The first week of 2015 was beyond amazing for me. Monday many of my fellow co-workers and colleagues returned from the holiday break. Tuesday we had two firsts: DC had its first snow of the winter and it was the first day of the 114th Congress. Wednesday the temperature in DC dipped to below freezing. My NBC 4 Washington weather man let me know, “It’s 4:45am and minus 4 degrees!” Thursday the tragedy began in Paris with the killings at Charlie Hebdo in Paris. Friday the killings got worse and the world watched in shock and awe, the terror of a nation.

We are only 9 days into the New Year! It was only a week ago that many of us were recuperating from a lovely night of ringing in the New Year! It was a night of wonderful playful competition as each city around the world tried to out do each other with their display of counting down to 2015! It is and hopefully will continue to be a time when the world is a stage! I enjoy seeing all the fascinating pictures from around the world showing the moment the next year comes to be. Twitter and Instagram have enhanced this experience to another level. It was the calm before the horrifying storm.

I will write about the political part of the events in Paris in another post. Today, I want to discuss the human side of these killings. I am a news junkie and the media coverage both TV and print has been amazing. The information on the story was swiftly presented and unbelievable. The pain and suffering these actions have caused are devastating. I usually don’t get emotional when watching the news but this massacre and the aftermath of hostage taking and more killings has taken its toll. My heart goes out to the families and friends of the victims; as well as all of the public officials and law enforcement officers. This is when these jobs stink. They have to be the back-bone for an entire country. From what I have read they are doing a fantastic job and must be exhausted. But unfortunately they cannot take a break. The entire country is on alert.

Soon it will be time to heal! I lived in NJ and was on my way to the World Trade Center on 9/11/2001 when those planes went through the buildings. The aftermath was surreal. For an entire week I was in a “fog”. For three days there were no planes in the air. The Newark International Airport was about 10 mins from where I lived and we were not used to silence in the air. I lost a dear friend, he was like an uncle to me. He lost his life in Tower II. You never fully recuperate from things like this. But you do heal. It will take all of us to assist with this process for the people of France.

For now, just hug those you love and be grateful for every moment you have with them.

Thanks for reading, please leave a comment and tell all about The WIYATT.

About wiyatt

Hi I am Dara born in Spain, raised in Newark, NJ and now enjoying living a dream in Washington, DC. I am zealous about Social Equity and Justice. I am an Advocate for Disability Rights. I am a Sister & Friend to many! Years of studying, living and changing policy brought me to this place. Thank you for reading my blog! Follow me on Twitter: @NJDC07 The quote above is from Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr in a speech he gave here in Washington, DC in 1955. It is now carved into one of the many stones at his memorial on the National Mall.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “2015 jumps off in terror”

  1. Beth Wanjiku says:

    Looking forward to the political part of the events:-)

Leave a Reply

