“Perception is a….”

Today is a WIYATT post! This morning while watching Morning Joe on MSNBC the host Joe Scarborugh said something ridiculous, yet again. Now I know you are saying “Why do you watch him if this is a reoccurring event?” I am a News Junkie and while I read my papers in the morning I like to watch the TV News as well. I am an equal opportunity watcher. My favorite in the morning is my local NBC Washington team, then I flip through the channels – MSNBC, CNN and FOX – yes FOX! (more on where I get the news from later)

Joe was discussing the story around the terrorist attacks in Paris. He was discussing the reasoning for the attacks. There was an analyst on, didn’t catch his name, but they had a dialogue about hate and the treatment of Muslims, Jews and other immigrants in France and other European countries. The man stated that in Europe the citizens of countries want to keep their countries identity at all cost. They reject the assimilation of other cultures. It’s difficult to be a melting pot like the US.

Joe replied that “Yeah! America is a melting pot because we ALL immigrated here!” OH PLEASE!!! I Tweeted to him and one of the regular panelists, Dorian Warren who is an African American Professor and MSNBC political analyst. (See my Tweet Below) “We are all NOT immigrants! AA did not migrate here we were brought here and enslaved!” Later I Tweeted that Native Americans did not migrate here either!

This is a regular occurrence for Joe Scarborough. He constantly puts his foot in his mouth. It is part of the job, I think. It always amazes me when people don’t want to think about or admit to the history of America. Like the fact that in the United States Capitol Visitors Center (CVC) and on the tour of the Rotunda and the building, there is NO ART that depicts slavery. As if this part of our history can be forgotten because it is not discussed. There are a few artifacts in the small room in the CVC room below the Rotunda. But even that is a small portion of the true history of slavery.

When Joe made that statement, I was yelling for a few minutes. It frustrated me so! How can you know about slavery yet ignore the history of what happened. This is a large part of the problem of why we have race issues in this country. The fact that we will not acknowledge the horror of slavery will be the continued detriment of any work set forth to dismantle racism. To ignore or forget that slaves and Native Americans did not migrate here is ignorant! Do I think he said this on purpose? Yes.

He has a very narrow thought process about a number of issues. But that is why he is so successful at what he does. The show is not an informative news program, it is entertainment with the news. Joe is typical of many who have not taken the time to learn about the multi layered melting pot and fantastically varied heritage of this country. He also thinks and works in the vanity of understanding that all people have had his experiences. It is annoying to deal with “these” people. Their “modus operandi” is to not think before they speak and when they do speak it is in large generalities. Perceptions are a…..

Thanks for reading, please leave comments and tell all about The WIYATT!
photo-2
photo-3

About wiyatt

Hi I am Dara born in Spain, raised in Newark, NJ and now enjoying living a dream in Washington, DC. I am zealous about Social Equity and Justice. I am an Advocate for Disability Rights. I am a Sister & Friend to many! Years of studying, living and changing policy brought me to this place. Thank you for reading my blog! Follow me on Twitter: @NJDC07 The quote above is from Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr in a speech he gave here in Washington, DC in 1955. It is now carved into one of the many stones at his memorial on the National Mall.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Perception is a….”

  1. Josh says:

    He was just repeating a statement that, I bet anyway, echoes in many of our sub-conscious minds due to hearing it so many times…..so many times that make it seem safe to repeat (particularly when you get paid to say what people want to hear I suppose aka. cable news programs). If the audience isn’t critically thinking about what they’re hearing they miss the fallacy altogether. It’s ‘Merica rhetoric, and for many people, it has its own permanent “table reservation” in the “restaurant” of our heads. Key terms: “melting pot” and “nation of immigrants.” I bet if I Google “nation of immigrants” I’ll get references to the US. I guess it isn’t untrue but at the same time it IS untrue because it isn’t 100% true. But it is a PR slogan like ‘West Virginia: Wild and Wonderful.’ ‘USA: Nation of immigrants,’ or rather ‘America: Nation of Immigrants,’ (“America” is another slogan of sorts)…..mass marketing of the US “Product,” perhaps mostly to it’s own people encouraging Nationalism. I’m rambling now soooo great blog post.
    Your friend/colleague from the DMV,
    Josh

Leave a Reply

