Anniversary of the WIYATT – Fuel that keeps me going

In May 2015 I celebrated the one-year anniversary of this blog! This has been a journey for me. At the time that I started the WIYATT, I just loss my best friend in a horrific way. My dear loving, graceful and poetic mother passed away in my apartment. It was the most horrible day of my life – that was in September 2013. Then in March of 2014 I lost my job – yes my Director who was my friend before I started the job “let me go” six months after loosing my mother.

So in May 2015, I was unemployed, motherless, depressed still reeling from the tragedy of performing CPR on my mother to bring her back to this world but most of all back to me and in search of my next position so that I could keep a roof over my head, eat and live a normal good life; forget about the American Dream. I was living the American hell that so many of my fellow Americans have lived for well over seven years now. Some of them are my dear friends, who remain jobless, underemployed and/or unemployed. (I pray for you each day)

I was also planning my next steps for a writing future. Yes in the face of all of these obstacles that lay ahead of me and in the mist of the deepest emotional pain I have ever known in my life, I preserved on and had the gall to dream of having not only my dream career a position as a public policy analyst but also follow my heart and create a joint career; and enter into one of the most prophetic and toughest positions on the employment/job list – be a writer.

But there is one thing my parents taught me, it’s that persistent perseverance is our way of life. Not just the Baldwin’s/ Johnson’s/Walker’s/Lipscomb’s/Sherrill’s (all my family names – maternal & paternal) way of life but persistent perseverance is a way of life for we as a people – Black people.

I got on my knees and prayed that I would finally find the job/career position of my dreams and at the same time be able to continue my passion for writing.

My prayers were answered and I landed the best position with a fabulous organization doing serious social justice work with amazing people making change. I was able to stay in DC where I have created a wonderful life for myself and I’m finally making money that I deserve and allows me to live a good life. I am truly blessed.

The new position has been a fantastic experience where I have learned much, contributed and ready to be more involved and have a long career doing what I love public policy, grassroots outreach in social justice/equity in the field of disability rights which includes civil and human rights for they are all interrelated; one not able to exist without the other.

Establishing myself and preparing for my every day work this year was exciting, exhilarating and exhausting. I continued to reach out for therapy to get me through my devastating loss. Part of that therapy was writing but for myself – journaling is a serious therapeutic and cleansing exercise that each human who wishes to change their lives should embark upon each day. (Something my mom taught me)

I am passionate about writing. Yes passionate. I know many people say Ugh! I HATE to write. But just as I find reading, writing is a craving that can consume an entire afternoon, evening or even sometimes a complete 24hrs of my day. My confidence in writing came from a wonderful professor I had, her name was Dr. Callahan of Rutgers University. She was one of my first MPA professors.

Dr. Callahan is tough as nails when it comes to writing. During one of our classes, she was giving back our first writing assignment she started with a question, “Who in here likes to write? I mean really enjoys the craft of researching information, writing out an outline, implementing that outline, editing, editing again, editing a third time with a friend and then bringing it to me for a grade?” There were three of us in the room who unapologetically and proudly raised our hands. She said, “Yes, I can tell you three are writers. The rest of you in this class need to reach out to them for some help.”

Dr. Callaghan rarely gave out a B+; to garner an A from her was like embarking on the quest for the Holy Grail and bringing back the holy water it held. I got nothing but A’s from her on my papers and that quest nearly ended my crusade for a MPA.

I had obtained my first management position in work because of my writing.  All of that was a wonderful way to get started in writing. But the one thing that has validated that I am good at this incredulous and dubious craft we call writing are the accolades I receive from you the readers! THANK YOU! I am honored and overwhelmed with gratitude. It is the fuel that keeps me going.

In the past few months I have NOT been focused on this blog and some of my other writings that I ventured into in 2014 and for that I apologize to the readers. I make a promise to you and myself to be better; to do more blog posts and to be true to my passions. We are living through serious historic times, with so much going on in this world, this country and in the place I call home Washington, DC and the surrounding areas – as we call it the DMV. (DC, Maryland and Virginia) It is time for me to scribe the things I am feeling, seeing and by the grace of God and all things hopeful changing.

Thanks for reading, please leave comments and tell all about The WIYATT!

 

About wiyatt

Hi I am Dara born in Spain, raised in Newark, NJ and now enjoying living a dream in Washington, DC. I am zealous about Social Equity and Justice. I am an Advocate for Disability Rights. I am a Sister & Friend to many! Years of studying, living and changing policy brought me to this place. Thank you for reading my blog! Follow me on Twitter: @NJDC07 The quote above is from Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr in a speech he gave here in Washington, DC in 1955. It is now carved into one of the many stones at his memorial on the National Mall.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Anniversary of the WIYATT – Fuel that keeps me going

  1. Les Walker says:

    I’ve continued to watch you grow and develop since the passing of my sister (your mother) and wish nothing but the best for your career and passions.

    • wiyatt says:

      Hi Uncle,
      I LOVE YOU SO MUCH! Thank you for this – I am just learning how to reply etc. on this thing:)
      I am getting more serious about my blog posts – please join me on my journey in 2017!

      I do promise to see you in 2017!

      Take care of yourself! Happy MLK Jr weekend – his legacy is why I do the work!
      LOVE YOU,
      Dara

Leave a Reply

