A week of Importance for Criminal Justice -thoughts from me

Hi All,

I hope you are enjoying your weekend.

As we enter into this week, we are all aware of the many advocates/activists coming to Washington, DC to encourage and implore their Congressional leaders to pass the Criminal Justice Reform bills NOW!

I thought that I would share a few things from my experience last week. While on the Hill with our AVID Project delegation on Friday, we saw the United Methodist Church building’s message to Congress on their outside sign this message: “Welcome Back Congress. We are praying for Criminal Justice Reform”.

On Friday, September 9, 2016 part of Democracy Now’s daily show was on “The 45th Anniversary of the Attica Uprising” – MUST SEE! The entire segment will anger and inspire you!

It is disheartening and demoralizing that 45yrs later the conditions in prison remain the same and in some places are more horrific. Many believe that this incident 45yrs ago laid the foundation for the racist, discriminatory and punitive criminal justice laws created and implemented over the years that have brought us to this place today! Remember the Governor of New York, where Attica is located, was Nelson Aldrich Rockerfeller.

The Democracy Now show is also about the new book titled Blood in the Water: The Attica Prison Uprising of 1971 and Its Legacy by Heather Ann Thompson, which “reveals the state role in the deadly stand-off”. (My next book to read)

I came to DC in 2007 to work in social justice policy and I have been blessed to achieve my dream. The forces behind the dream are the individuals, families and communities around this country who have “all eyes on Washington, DC” anticipating a new outcome and pining for Hope and Change!

I look forward to our work in the coming weeks and I am honored to do this work with ALL of you! NO JUSTICE! NO PEACE!

To see the entire Friday, September 9, 2016 Democracy Now show – which also includes information on the 9/9/2016 National strike by Prison Workers –in over 24 states & 40 Facilities go here: http://www.democracynow.org/shows/2016/9/9?autostart=true

To see the Attica Uprising segment of the show go to: http://www.democracynow.org/2016/9/9/new_details_revealed_about_legendary_attica

In Solidarity,

Dara

About wiyatt

Hi I am Dara born in Spain, raised in Newark, NJ and now enjoying living a dream in Washington, DC. I am zealous about Social Equity and Justice. I am an Advocate for Disability Rights. I am a Sister & Friend to many! Years of studying, living and changing policy brought me to this place. Thank you for reading my blog! Follow me on Twitter: @NJDC07 The quote above is from Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr in a speech he gave here in Washington, DC in 1955. It is now carved into one of the many stones at his memorial on the National Mall.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

